Patagonia Region

The southern extreme of the planet offers magical experiences

Tourism in Patagonia: What to Do in This Region?

This is tourism in Patagonia. It’s magical because its waterfalls, plains, mountains, and native forests encompass a special mystique typical of the End of the World. It’s extraordinary because its landscapes are breathtaking. It’s legendary because what you experience there will be treasured forever.

About Patagonia

What to visit in Patagonia? Glaciers, lakes, forests, steppes, natural wonders declared UNESCO’s World Heritage Sites, among many more. Visiting this region is a one-way ticket to a parallel world where the landscape captivates everyone, the gastronomy delights all taste buds, and the stimuli increase every second. Land of native fauna, national parks, and fairy-tale villages: this is what the places in Argentinian Patagonia offer.



Must-see Attractions

The Mythical Route 40: Its Patagonian Stops

A national emblem crossing 11 provinces. In the south, mountains and lakes decorate it, raising the bet and reaffirming the weight of this route for the country.

Los Glaciares National Park, an Icy Paradise

The first to be declared a World Heritage Site. The glaciers in the park originate from the great Patagonian Ice Field, the largest ice field in the world after Antarctica.

Kayaking in Bariloche

You can paddle along the Nahuel Huapi and Moreno lakes in Río Negro. Bariloche offers thrilling water experiences and unbeatable landscapes nestling turquoise waves.

El Chaltén, National Capital of Trekking

This honour was awarded thanks to its impeccable trails marked out in nature. A magical journey that requires being in good physical condition, but that ensures that every second of the tour is worth the effort. The view of Cerro Fitz Roy is beyond compare.

Navigation on the Argentino Lake

Embark on an aquatic adventure through Argentinian Patagonia’s frozen landscapes. Glaciers become the ideal setting to contemplate a natural wonder.

Speed up at the End of the World

The routes connecting Ushuaia, in Tierra del Fuego, are perfect for a road trip surrounded by pure nature. Forests, valleys, mountains, lakes, and Patagonian flora and fauna.

Valdés Peninsula: a Marine Experience among Fantastic Animals

The phenomenon of the southern right whales is known worldwide. In Chubut, animals parade along the coast, offering an experience for all the senses: orcas, penguins, dolphins, and sea lions turn up to join the show.


Water Falling off from the Sky: Waterfalls

Santa Ana, and Dora, and Ñivinco, and Pichi Traful… There are thousands of alternatives to see waterfalls in Patagonia.

The region’s climates and temperatures vary across the different geographical points. The average annual temperature is around 10 ºC, with lower temperatures as you go to the south of Patagonia. During winter, in the southernmost extreme, heavy snowfalls are often, making it ideal for practising sports on the mountains. Winds also characterise the Patagonian climate, especially in summer.

Although the term does not have a clear origin, it is believed that the name derives from the nickname given to the original inhabitants by Magellan’s men, i.e., ‘Patagones’.

From deer, pumas, and foxes to guanacos, condors, and rheas. The enormous variety of animals living in Patagonia is wide due to the diversity of its landscapes and climates. In particular, the maritime group holds a special place with the arrival of southern right whales, which share a stage with Magellanic penguins, sea lions, orcas, and dolphins.


On the other hand, the flora embraces native forests and steppes, with examples of cypresses and larch trees, as well as typical bushes, such as the Magellan barberry. Lupins bloom in spring with their characteristic intense purple colour.

The western region of southern Patagonia has a valuable water network that constitutes one of the most important drinking water reservoirs in the world. So, if you are travelling to Patagonia, you must drink the water that flows along its crystal-clear rivers.

The Patagonia region is made up of 6 provinces: La Pampa, Neuquén, Río Negro, Chubut, Santa Cruz, and Tierra del Fuego.