Argentina Visa: Who Needs to Apply for Tourism Travel, What Are the Requirements, and How to Apply

Argentina has agreements with hundreds of countries whose citizens do not need a visa to enter the country for tourism. However, there are many other countries whose citizens need to apply for permission. Find out if you need a visa and the requirements to obtain it.

When planning a trip to another country, one key aspect to consider is the visa regime of that country. Fortunately for foreign travelers, Argentina has a visa policy that allows citizens of more than 120 nationalities to enter without having to apply for a tourist visa.

In this article, we will provide detailed information on which countries need a visa to enter Argentina and how to obtain it, as well as which countries are exempt from this requirement.

It is important to note that, regardless of whether you need a visa or not to enter Argentina, other documents may be required, such as a valid passport, proof of sufficient funds, and a confirmed travel itinerary. Additionally, for certain types of travelers, such as business people, there may be exceptions.

Visa to Travel to Argentina: Countries That Need to Apply

For some countries, it is necessary to obtain a visa before traveling to Argentina. These countries include:

Afghanistan, Albania, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Saudi Arabia, Algeria, Azerbaijan.

Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Belize, Benin, Botswana, Brunei, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Bhutan.

Cape Verde, Cambodia, Cameroon, Chad, Comoros, North Korea, Ivory Coast.

Egypt, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia.


Gabon, Gambia, Guinea, Equatorial Guinea, Guinea-Bissau.


India, Indonesia, Iraq, Iran, Marshall Islands, Solomon Islands.


Kenya, Kyrgyzstan, Kiribati, Kosovo, Kuwait.

Laos, Lesotho, Lebanon, Liberia, Libya.

Madagascar, Malawi, Maldives, Mali, Morocco, Mauritius, Mauritania, Micronesia, Moldova, Mozambique, Myanmar.

Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Niger, Nigeria.

Oman, Organization of American States, United Nations.

Pakistan, Palau, Palestine, Papua New Guinea.

Central African Republic, Republic of Congo, Democratic Republic of Congo, Dominican Republic, People's Republic of China, Rwanda.

Samoa, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Syria, Somalia, Sri Lanka, Sudan, South Sudan.

Tanzania, Tajikistan, Taiwan, East Timor, Togo, Tonga, Tunisia, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu.

Uganda, African Union, Uzbekistan.

Vanuatu, Vietnam.

Yemen, Djibouti.

Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Argentina Visa: How to Obtain It for Tourism Entry

If you need a visa to visit Argentina, the first step is to contact the Argentine embassy or consulate in your home country. There, you will be provided with detailed information on the required documents, forms to complete, and processing times. It is important to start this process well in advance to avoid any delays in your travel.

If it turns out that you do need to obtain a visa as a foreign tourist from a country with which the Argentine Republic does not have a visa exemption agreement, here are the details on how to do so.

You should know that a tourist is considered to be a foreigner who enters the country for the purpose of rest or recreation, with an authorized stay of up to three (3) months, extendable for another similar period.

What You Need to Apply for the Visa

  • Valid passport with a minimum validity of 6 months from the date of entry into the country, and at least one blank page (two pages).

  • Two (2) recent passport-size photos 4x4cm, facing forward, in color, with a white background.

  • Completed visa application form (preferably electronically) and signed by the applicant. You can download it from this same page.

  • Proof of economic solvency (for example, recent pay stubs, last credit card statement, or last bank account statement).

  • Round-trip ticket reservation (it is recommended not to purchase tickets until the visa has been granted).

  • Hotel reservation and tourist itinerary. In case of not having a hotel reservation, and if there is an invitation from an individual, an invitation letter. You can download a template letter from this same page.

  • Payment of the consular fee: $150.- (US dollars or euros, according to the Consular Representation of processing, payable in the local currency where the Representation is located).

  • Consular interview.

Note: The mere fulfillment of the mentioned requirements does not guarantee the granting of the visa, this being the exclusive prerogative of the Argentine State. Start the visa process by contacting the corresponding Consular Representation to schedule an appointment and coordinate the submission of documentation.

Applying for the Argentine Visa Step by Step

  • Contact the consular representation in your jurisdiction and request an interview with the consular officer.
  • Attend the interview with the consular officer, bringing the corresponding documentation.
  • Retrieve the tourist visa to enter Argentina.

Note: The maximum stay period that consular offices can grant you is 90 days. It can be extended once for the same period if you appear at any of the Delegations of the National Directorate of Migrations of the Argentine Republic before the originally granted period expires.

Countries That Do Not Need a Visa to Enter Argentina

This is the list of countries whose fortunate citizens can enter Argentina without the need for a prior visa. Among these countries are Germany, the United States, Spain, and many more. However, it is important to note that visa exemption may be subject to certain conditions, such as the maximum duration of allowed stay.

Germany, Andorra, Armenia, Australia, Austria.

Barbados, Belgium, Bermuda, Belarus, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria.

Canada, Chile, Cyprus, Vatican City, Colombia, South Korea, Costa Rica, Croatia, Curacao.

Denmark, Dominica.

Ecuador, El Salvador, United Arab Emirates, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, United States of America, Estonia.

Finland, Fiji, France.

Georgia, Grenada, Greece, Guadeloupe, Guam, Guatemala, French Guiana, Guyana.

Honduras, Hong Kong (China), Hungary.

Ireland, Iceland, United States Virgin Islands, Israel, Italy.

Jamaica, Japan, Jersey.


Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macau (China), Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Martinique, Mayotte, Mexico, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro.

Nicaragua, Norway, New Zealand.

Order of Malta, International Civil Aviation Organization.

Netherlands (Holland), Panama, Paraguay, Peru, French Polynesia, Poland, Portugal, Puerto Rico.


United Kingdom, Czech Republic, Reunion, Romania, Russia.

Western Sahara, Saint Kitts and Nevis, San Marino, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Saint Lucia, Sao Tome and Principe, Serbia, Singapore, South Africa, Sweden, Switzerland, Suriname.

Thailand, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey.



The complete official list can be checked for countries that require or do not require a visa to enter.

If you are a foreign tourist and have other questions related to entry into the country, fees and refunds, stay extensions, or advice and information, we recommend this section on .